Agriturismo Terra Selvatica

To live in tune with nature, feel the magic of the seasons, breath the perfume of the earth, close to the elements, sun on your skin, wind in your hair, overlooking the width of the Tiber Valley, enjoy deep silence, re-discover the wildness: This is Terra Selvatica – wild earth!

She has opened wide her arms, let us in, welcomed us – and the same heartfelt welcome we offer you, dear guest!

Country life – an affair of the heart

Country life on a farm means to get involved. Involved in each single moment. No matter if it is a moment of sun, warmth, wind, rain or cold, the power of the elements invites to live nature, become a part of it and learn its language.

Life on a farm means to have dirt underneath your fingernails, blisters on your feet or hands, muscle ache, possibly a sunburn. It means birds-singing as a constant companion, glowworms in June, pure air, fragrances of earth and plenty of joy and satisfaction. To witness how a seed becomes a plant giving us fruit and vegetable is participating directly in the circle of life. With devotion, enthusiasm and mindfulness we are pursuing our daily business and give gratitude to the soil and the earth who is carrying and nourishing us.

Thus you should be aware, dear guest, that when you are coming to Terra Selvatica, the rooster crows, sheep are bleating, wind muddles up your hair, rain might transform the earth into mud. But your gaze meets no boundaries, your senses will be cleaned and refreshed and you dive into the wisdom of nature. In all its wild beauty.

Terra Selvatica – wild earth.

On our farm we leave space for cultivated and wild land – they complement each other. Olive groves surrounded by broom growing wild and thorny bushes where bees and other little animals meet. Our fields are fenced by natural bushes and wild cherry trees. Traces of human intervention are in harmony with the natural growth, the native land and the earth. Pure beauty and wilderness. Cultivation and authenticity. Discipline and freedom. At Terra Selvatica these are no opposites – ONENESS.

Terra Selvatica – wild earth.

We have taken her to our hearts and she thanks us with her miracles and richness every day.

Your hosts

Two Swiss people in Italy

Gli svizzeri – as the Italians say.

Tired of our civilized life we decided to move to the country side and materialize and live our long cherished visions and dreams. Terra Selvatica is a combination of both our visions. Here they finally came together, found reality and solid, fertile ground so to say. Dreams of an autonomous and independent life. Nature. Land. Being outside. Live in a sustainable way, in harmony with the circle of life. Eat homegrown vegetables. Mature and full of taste. Live and care about the community. Together. Meet and being met.

For a long time we felt the attraction and the connection to Italy, to the Italian way of life, the “italianità”. Each one in her/his own way. The joy and pleasure that –one could think- emanates from within the earth and flows into the body and soul showing itself in heartiness, warmth and helpfulness. This is contagious and yet so soothing.

The step to Umbria, Perugia, Fratticiola Selvatica, Terra Selvatica was a big one. This change of life has brought inner freedom, wisdom and peace and the wish to share it with you, dear guest.

A heartfelt welcome – un cordiale benvenuto!

Peter und Patricia

News

Being outside, going for long walks and hikes throughout the hills and valleys of Umbria and the Tiber Valley. Maybe even do a piece of the St. Francis trail, which...

17th to 31st of March and from 28th of April to 12th of May 2019 For the following jobs we welcome your help: - Restore and repair of old dry stone...

The most rewarding work in the olive grove is for sure the harvest. The elders say that before the 15th of November not one olive should be picked. But it...

Wild asparagus season - mid March to end of April When the wild asparagus is growing you know that spring is coming. On extended walks through fields and woods we pick...

Agriturismo Terra Selvatica

Im Einklang mit der Natur leben, die Magie der Jahreszeiten spüren, den Duft der Erde einatmen, den Elementen nahe, Sonne auf der Haut, den Blick über die Weite des Tibertals schweifen lassen, die Ruhe geniessen, Wildheit neu entdecken: Das ist Terra Selvatica – wilde Erde!

Sie hat weit ihre Tore geöffnet, uns eingelassen und willkommen geheissen. Und den gleichen Empfang bereiten wir dir, lieber Gast.

Landleben – Eine Herzensangelegenheit

Das Leben auf dem Land bedeutet, sich auf den Moment einlassen. Den Moment der Sonne, der Wärme, des Windes, des Regens, der Kälte, der Elemente. Bedeutet draussen zu sein, in der Natur, ein Teil von ihr zu sein und ihre Sprache zu lernen.

Landleben bedeutet Dreck unter den Fingernägeln zu haben, Schwielen an den Händen, Muskelkater, auch mal einen Sonnenbrand. Bedeutet Vogelgezwitscher als ständigen Begleiter, Glühwürmchen im Juni, frische Luft, duftende Erde und ganz viel Freude und Befriedigung. Zu sehen und mitzuerleben wie vom Samen die Pflanze entsteht, die uns nachher mit Früchten oder Gemüse beschenkt, heisst am Kreislauf des Lebens teilzunehmen. Uns geht es um Hingabe und Achtsamkeit an und für den Boden, die Erde, die uns ernährt und trägt.

Also, lieber Gast, wisse, dass wenn du zu uns kommst, der Hahn kräht, die Schafe blöken, der Wind dein Haar zerzaust, der Regen die Erde in Schlamm verwandeln kann. Wisse, dass dein Auge frei schweift, deine Sinne gereinigt und erfrischt werden, du Kraft aus der Natur schöpfen kannst, die du hier hautnah erlebst. In ihrer ganzen wilden Schönheit.

Terra Selvatica‚ wilde Erde

Auf Terra Selvatica lassen wir Platz für Wildes und Gezähmtes. Kulturland im Wechselspiel mit der wilden Natur. Olivenhaine umgeben von wucherndem Ginster und Dornengestrüpp, wo sich Bienen und allerlei Kleingetier ein Stelldichein geben. Unsere Felder begrenzt durch natürliches Gebüsch und wilde Kirschbäume. Spuren und Eingriffe des Menschen in Harmonie mit dem natürlichen Wachstum und der Ursprünglichkeit der Erde und des Landes. Schönheit und Wildheit. Pflege und Authentizität. Anbau, Zucht und Freiheit. Bei uns keine Gegensätze‚ sondern EINS.

Terra Selvatica‚ wilde Erde

Wir haben sie in unser Herz geschlossen und sie dankt es uns mit ihren Wundern und ihrem Reichtum.

Deine Gastgeber

Zwei Schweizer in Italien. Gli svizzeri.

Zivilisationsmüde geworden, haben wir beschlossen aufs Land zu ziehen und lang gehegte Träume und Visionen umzusetzen und zu leben. Die Kombination unserer beider Träume findet hier auf Terra Selvatica ihre Wirklichkeit, realen Boden sozusagen.

Träume vom autonomen, autarken Leben waren dabei. Natur. Land. Draussen sein. Nachhaltig, dem Kreis des Lebens gerecht werdend. Das eigene Gemüse essen. Geschmackvoll und reif. Gemeinschaft pflegen, Begegnung und Miteinander stattfinden lassen.

Die Anziehung und den Bezug zu Italien, zur italienischen Lebensart, der «italianità», spürten wir schon lange, beide auf ihre Art. Die Freude und der Genuss, die – so könnte man meinen – aus dem Land, der Erde, in die Menschen strömen und sich in ihrer Herzlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft zeigen, sind ansteckend und wohltuend.

Der Schritt hierher, nach Umbrien, Perugia, Fratticiola Selvatica, Terra Selvatica war ein grosser, lebensverändernder, hat inneren Frieden gebracht und den Wunsch dies mit dir, lieber Gast, zu teilen.

Herzlich willkommen – un cordiale benvenuto!

Aktuell

Von Mitte März bis Ende April ist Spargel-Zeit Mit den wilden Spargeln kommt der Frühling. Wir lieben es, sie auf ausgedehnten Spaziergängen durch Wald, Feld und Wiese zu pflücken und danach...

Die schönste Arbeit im Olivenhain ist eindeutig die Ernte. Die alten Einheimischen sagen, dass vor dem 15. November nicht gepflückt werden soll, doch dies ist etwas überholt. Es kommt sehr...

Vom 17. Bis 31. März 2019 und vom 28. April bis 12. Mai 2019 Für folgende Arbeiten sind wir froh um Unterstützung: Alte Trockensteinmauern auf dem Land ausbessern...

Draussen sein, ausgiebige Spaziergänge durch die Hügel Umbriens (unter anderem auch ein Stück des Franziskus-Weges...